Mikä ihana maailmaa

What a wonderful world

Today, I am completely in love with Helsinki.  On these bright summer days, it feels like the city itself is rising up and dancing in the simple joy of being so beautiful.  People are milling around, shopping, sunning, reading, taking photos, smiling.  Everyone is festive and happy, and the air is sparkling with energy.

I have a lot of things to do today, which is a great excuse to be out walking the city.   After a morning coffee meeting, I went to the market square and shopped the vendors.  The natives will buy a litre (yes, they measure vegetables in litres…) of snap peas and sit on the corner eating them raw.  Little children expertly snap open the pods and fish out the sweet crunchy peas.  It strikes me as a huge difference between the culture here and in the states, and even in England; here, eating snap peas raw is a lovely summer treat.  I love the simplicity and the honesty of the lifestyle that implies.

So I went back to my apartment for a quick lunch before more meetings, and I decided to emulate that simplicity.  I chopped up some tiny red onions, sweet carrot, a small, bright tomato, and a handful of snap peas, and mixed them with some bright greens and a couple of forkfuls of dill cured trout fillet.  A tiny drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkle of fresh cilantro, and my simple Finnish lunch is complete!

Suomalainen lounas

I am soon heading back out into the summer sun.  Lots of things in life are uncertain, but today, I am simply happy and grateful to be in such a wonderful place.

Leave a Reply

